A perfect summer dress

For my first post I have chosen to review the Lucille Dress  pattern from Simple Sew bought from Jaycott’s. I hesitated slightly when choosing this one as it was £12.50, and there are a few similar style patterns around, but I liked the quality look of it and loved the fit of view A, so I plumped for this one.

Here are the pattern images used on Jaycott’s site..

SR10_lucille_F                        SR10_Lucille_blue

I had some fabulous lightweight apple print cotton lawn fabric in my stash bought from Abakhan last year (£4.16 a metre) which seemed like a perfect combination for this style.

The pattern and instructions are both printed on good quality paper – always a bonus, so easy to cut out and pin. The instructions were clear and simple to follow.

Accuracy is a major factor in the success of this dress – there are darts to line up with the bodice and skirt plus the pleats can make or break the fit – I had to redo the pleats on my bodice to get a good fit and I ended up adding extra darts in the middle section too to get it right. I think that if I made this again it would work better with a fabric with a bit of stretch to make fitting easier.

Overall I’m delighted with the result. My invisible zip worked a treat after I discovered a super tip from Craftsy to get it lined up with the seams every time.

I chose to line the skirt as well as the midriff piece in a gorgeous sand coloured satin charmeuse which makes it super luxurious to wear. The pattern itself just requires a semi-lined bodice.

I’ll definitely make this again, but as the packaging states, it’s a ‘close fit’ so accurate sewing is a must unless you use a stretchier fabric.

Here’s my finished version, worn on holiday last week:

FullSizeRender                IMG_8202

The front:

IMG_8198

The back:

IMG_8196

The lining:

IMG_8201

 

Leave a Reply

