The Susie Blouse – Sew Over It

I’ve had the Susie Blouse on my “to sew list” for a while now. It’s really similar to my all-time favourite top from Cath Kidston which I’ve practically worn out. So I was excited to find a way of recreating something I knew I’d wear lots.

The Susie is a PDF pattern from Sew Over It and is 32 pages long plus instructions (I never usually print these as it’s easy to read on screen). I quite like the process of printing and taping the pattern together – I’ve learned to embrace this prep part with a glass of wine to hand!

Susie blouse front coverA5

The envelope states that SOI patterns tend to be closer fitting, so I checked the size chart carefully and cut out a size 14. I’m usually  12-14 so went for the larger size.

Fabric-wise I chose a gorgeous viscose poplin which I bought in the Abakhan sale for just £3.33 per metre (now £4.99). It has a beautiful drape and is lightweight, perfect for this unusually hot weather.

The top itself was fairly easy to sew, although the collar requires two layers of fashion fabric plus interfacing, and it can be a bit fiddly to turn and press, so be careful not to use a heavyweight fabric. It’s really important to clip the curves properly or it won’t lie flat.

A great pattern and I’ve already had compliments on it’s first day of wear. The fit is good and hangs really well. Will definitely make up a few more in different fabrics.

One thought on “The Susie Blouse – Sew Over It

Leave a Reply

