My favourite tee – New Look 6217

I made this about a year ago and have worn it lots since. It’s a simple kimono sleeve t-shirt from New Look 6217. The envelope image is hardly inspiring, but I was looking for a simple shape to create a satiny/silky t-shirt and this seemed perfect with only 3 pattern pieces. I made view B.

6217_env_front

My fabric used was a gorgeous polyester charmeuse in navy which I’d bought a lot of my my shower cap business, so handy to use some of this stock. It was a bargain from Abakhan, and I bought several metres in sand to. Sadly they have now sold out but it’s the loveliest fabric and washes and irons well too.

The pattern was easy to follow, with the only sewing challenge being working with slippery fabric which I’m used to but I added a tiny rolled hem which is always fiddly in satin. For this type of fabric I tend to roll it freehand as I sew – I know, I know I’m mad, but having tried a rolled hem foot (chews it up)or pressing and pinning (leaves pin holes), I find this is the best technique for me.

The back has a seam which you could omit, but I prefer the little details of adding a button and loop closure.

Overall I’m pleased with this t-shirt and have got lots of wear from it over the last year. I made it again in a fine Japanese floral cotton fabric too but I prefer the hang of the charmeuse, plus it goes with anything. Will definitely make a few more.

FullSizeRender2

 

Leave a Reply

