Molly Top – Sew Over It #soicitybreak

As soon as I saw Lisa Comfort’s release of the Sew Over It Citybreak ebook, I had to have it. It’s a capsule wardrobe of simple key pieces which would suit a long weekend trip away. Perfect for every day wear too. The whole book was just £20 and the introductory discount made it great value for 5 patterns and instructions.

screen-shot-2016-09-26-at-11-28-19

The Molly top on the front cover really caught my eye as I’m an eternal breton top devotee, and I knew it would be one of those pieces that I’d wear and wear. I loved the neck band cut with the stripes vertically, a really nice detail.

I ordered the sailor stripe viscose jersey (before it sold out) also from Sew Over It which has a lovely drape to it and is very comfortable to wear. Not the cheapest jersey at £6 per half metre, but it is a lovely quality.

In contrast to my last project this make was super fast. In fact it took me longer to print and assemble the pdf pattern than it did to sew.

The instructions are quite brief, and for beginners this may not be enough, especially when so much attention needs paying to pattern matching stripes which isn’t mentioned. I spotted that just folding the striped jersey before laying out the patterns would not give a consistent match for the stripes at the edges, so I created whole pattern pieces and cut the fabric in one layer to make sure each side was exact. I used a long ruler to match the notches and used these as a guide to match the stripes on each side.

fullsizerender-4

I love how the stripes meet at the shoulders into a perfect point – I must have been lucky as it worked first time around for me having spent time lining up the stripes.

fullsizerender-3

The neck band could have been another potential place to struggle with, but it all worked out nicely and mine wasn’t too loose or too tight. The band was topstitched underneath as per the instructions using a small zig zag stitch along with the hems.

A really fast make (about an hour once the pattern was assembled and cut) and I’m so pleased with it I’ve ordered more fabric to make more. It’s a perfect length too, just covering the hips, great with skinny jeans.

Until next time.

fullsizerender-2

fullsizerender

img_8876

 

 

2 thoughts on “Molly Top – Sew Over It #soicitybreak

Leave a Reply

