Bird Print Pussy Bow Blouse

I’ve fancied making this blouse for ages now, so when I found an amazing bird print crepe on eBay, I had no excuse.

The pattern is from Sew Over It – ok, I’m a big fan of their patterns and size-wise they always get it spot on for me.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 13.56.43

 

I download the PDF pattern which is 32 pages long. I learned not to try to print, stick and sew all at once, it’s too much, so I tend to do one steep each day – handy doing the taping together with a good box set and a cuppa.

The pattern and instructions are pretty easy. I lengthened my sleeves by 2 inches as I’m very tall and have long arms. Also, as the crepe I bought had a bit of stretch to it, I omitted the need for a button on the cuff by simply adding plain cuffs – which worked a treat. The potentially tricky part is adding the bow to the neck. I made view 2 with the v neck. I was a bit disappointed that the back of the neck band has to be hand stitched in place on one side – note to self, must find an alternative technique. But it worked out well and I managed not to have too many visible stitches – not easy on a crepe.

Go careful too when hemming the curve if your fabric is slippery. Helps to use a tailor’s clapper when sewing with this type of fabric.

Really happy how this turned out, had some lovely compliments already. It’s the perfect top and a great length. I’ll definitely be making a few more.

IMG_0276IMG_0277

 

4 thoughts on “Bird Print Pussy Bow Blouse

Leave a Reply

