McCall’s M7094 top, plus another Kimono for summer.

I do love a freebie. Especially one which comes with my favourite sewing magazine Love Sewing.

April’s edition came with a free sewing pattern in the form of McCall’s M7094 , a perfect everyday top that I just knew I’d wear loads.

I popped to my local fabric shop (SewCraft in Swindon) and picked up a lovely viscose to make the top.

Now, at first glance, you;’d think that a freebie pattern with a mag would be fairly simple to make? Maybe not. There are a few tricky elements to this project, interfaced collars, yokes, gathered back and curved hems which will all challenge even a seasoned sewist. Having said all that, I persevered, and worked out a cheats way of attaching the yoke without the prescribed ‘hand stitching’ :-O Yep, there’s a bit of it, but at least I managed to avoid some. I explain in more detail here.

I made the long sleeve version and instead of adding tabs to roll up the sleeves, I turned the tabs into cuffs. My hand just fits through, so do check if you try this method.

Overall, I’m really pleased with with finished top, it’s one I’ll wear again and again, especially as view D is ‘bottom covering’ 😉

IMG_0971

Also this week I just had to make another Sew Over It Kimono Jacket – the perfect floaty cover-up for Summer.

IMG_0836

Both tops are on my vlog here.

Thanks for popping in, see you next time.

Happy sewing,

Cheryl.

 

 

 

Leave a comment